Board of Directors

AFMC is governed by the Board of Directors, comprised of the Deans of the 17 Faculties of Medicine and up to four public members.
The objective of AFMC, as outlined in the constitution, is to promote the advancement of academic medicine in Canada through the

  • review and development of standards for medical education in Canada
  • development of national policies appropriate to the aims and purposes of Canadian faculties of medicine
  • fostering of research into major areas of interest for Canadian faculties of medicine
  • representation of the Canadian faculties of medicine to key agencies

Board Members:

  • Dr. Brian Postl, Dean, Max Rady College of Medicine, University of Manitoba (Chair, AFMC Board of Directors)
  • Dr. David Anderson, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University (Chair Elect, AFMC Board of Directors)
  • Dr. Hélène Boisjoly, Doyenne, Faculté de médecine, Université de Montréal
  • Dr. Davy Cheng, Acting Dean, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University 
  • Dr. Margaret Steele, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Dr. Julien Poitras, Doyen, Faculté de médecine, Université Laval
  • Dr. Dominique Dorion, Doyen, Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Dr. David Eidelman, Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) & Dean, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University
  • Dr. Bernard Jasmin, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa
  • Dr. Richard Reznick, Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Queen's University
  • Dr. L. Trevor Young, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions, University of Toronto
  • Dr. Paul O’Byrne, Dean & Vice-President, Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University
  • Dr. Sarita Verma, Dean, President and CEO,Northern Ontario School of Medicine
  • Dr. Preston Smith, Dean, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Dennis Kunimoto, Acting Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta
  • Dr. Jon Meddings, Dean, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary
  • Dr. Dermot Kelleher, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Pierre-Gerlier Forest, Director and Palmer Chair, School of Public Policy, University of Calgary, Public Member
  • Ms. Anne McFarlane, Public Member
  • Dr. Jesse Kancir, Learner Representative, Public Member
  • Ms. Maureen Quigley, President, Maureen Quigley & Associates Inc., Public Member

President & CEO:

  • Dr. Geneviève Moineau

Executive Committee:

  • Dr. B. Postl, Chair
  • Dr. J. Meddings
  • Ms. M. Quigley
  • Dr. P. Smith
  • Dr. D. Kelleher
  • Dr. D. Anderson

Governance and Nominating Committee:

  • Dr. J. Meddings, Chair
  • Ms. M. Quigley
  • Dr. D. Kunimoto
  • Dr. D. Dorion
  • Dr B. Postl (Ex-Officio)
  • Dr. D. Anderson (Ex-Officio)

Audit, Finance and Risk Management Committee:

  • Dr. D. Anderson, Chair
  • Dr. T. Young
  • Dr. D. Eidelman
  • Dr. B. Postl, (Ex-Officio)

Standing Committee on Education:

  • Dr. P. Smith, Chair
  • Dr. J. Kancir
  • Dr. M. Steele
  • Dr. J. Poitras
  • Dr. E. Sutton
  • Dr. A. Warren
  • Dr. S. Schneeweiss
  • Dr. M. Lewis
  • Dr. B. Postl (Ex-Officio)
  • Dr. D. Anderson (Ex-Officio)

Standing Committee on Research and Innovation:

  • Dr. D. Kelleher, Chair
  • Dr. PG Forest
  • Dr. B. Jasmin
  • Ms A. McFarlane
  • Dr. P. Nickerson
  • Dr. T. Beattie
  • Dr. B. Postl (Ex-Officio)
  • Dr. D. Anderson (Ex-Officio)

By-laws and Policies

Public Members

AFMC Board of Directors Governance Manual