AFMC – Gold Humanism Award and Lecture

The AFMC - Gold Humanism Award and Lecture was created in 2018 to emphasize, reinforce and enhance the importance of humanistic qualities among medical school students and faculty. The nominations are open to physicians, nurses and other members of the health care team who practice in Canada or practitioners and researchers in health professions education. 
Selection Criteria
Nominations must include:
  • Evidence of the ideals of humanism and patient-centered care within the health care community in Canada;
  • Evidence of the qualities of a caring and compassionate teacher, mentor and health care provider and the desirable personal qualities necessary to the practice of patient-centered medicine by teaching ethics, empathy, and service by example;
  • Evidence of being a role model of a caring, compassionate, and collaborative health professional, who supports a humanistic learning environment, and is a positive reinforcement to prospective health professionals of the desirability of such qualities in the health care provider-patient relationship. 
The award and a $1,000 honorarium will be presented at the annual AFMC Presidential Address and Award Ceremony at the CCME. The award recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference and up to CAD $ 1,500 to cover travel expenses to attend the conference. Please check the General Information section for more details.
The award recipient will offer a lecture or lead a thought-leader session on a topic related to humanism and medicine at a time synchronous with the CCME. As well, the recipient will provide his/her lecture in essay format, which will be presented in the AFMC and APGFC communications and websites.
Nominating Procedure
Nominations may be made by any faculty member or member of the health care team. Nominators must submit a maximum 1,000 word letter attesting to the characteristics in the selection criteria. Nominations must be accompanied by an abbreviated CV, two supporting letters from peers and other relevant documentation as required to meet the criteria above. Please check the Nominating Guidelines for more details regarding the nomination process.
To submit a nomination, please complete the Award Nomination Form

Previous Recipients


Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull, University of Ottawa