AFMC Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada


The AFMC Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada recognizes an individual member of a faculty of medicine who has demonstrated excellence in faculty development in Canada. Eligible nominees must have either an M.D. or other health professional degree and demonstrate vision, innovation and leadership in faculty development.

Selection Criteria
Nominations must include: 
  • Evidence of a sustained track record as an outstanding leader in faculty development at a regional, national or international level;
  • Evidence of excellence in faculty development in medicine;
  • Evidence of exceptional contributions in faculty development through recognition and awards or evaluations or testimonials from faculty or other organisations;
  • Demonstrated impact in faculty development through innovation in curricular design, new courses or delivery of teaching material;
  • Evidence of advocacy for faculty development;
  • Evidence of emerging scholarship in faculty development through peer-reviewed publications, invited presentations, workshops, posters and abstracts.

The award and an associated $ 1500 honorarium will be presented at the annual AFMC Presidential Address and Award Ceremony at the CCME. The award recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference. Please check the General Information section for details as to the ceremony. 
Nominating Procedure
The nomination must be made by a letter of nomination by the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the nominee’s school. Each Faculty may nominate up to two nominees. Nominations must be accompanied by an abbreviated CV of the nominee, two supporting letters from peers and other relevant documentation such as evaluations showing excellence in faculty development or other materials as required to meet the criteria above. Please check the Nominating Guidelines for more details regarding the nomination process. 

To submit a nomination, please complete the Award Nomination Form.


Previous Recipients


Dr. Diane Clavet, Université de Sherbrooke


Co-Recipients: Dr. Allyn Walsh, McMaster University  and  Dr. Karen Leslie, University of Toronto


Dr. Karen V. Mann, Dalhousie University


Dr. James Goertzen, Northern Ontario School of Medicine


Dr. Sandra Jarvis-Selinger, University of British Columbia


Dr. Danielle Blouin, Queen's University


Dr. Peter McLeod, McGill University


Dr. Susan Lieff, University of Toronto


Dr. Lara Cooke, University of Calgary


Dr. Linda Snell, McGill University


Dr. Ivan Silver, University of Toronto


Dr. Luc Côté, Laval University


Teaching Improvement Project System (TIPS), University of British Columbia


Dr. Meridith Marks, University of Ottawa


Dr. Helen Batty, University of Toronto


Dr. David Cook, University of Alberta


Dr. Wayne Weston, Western University 


Centre de pédagogie en sciences de la santé, University of Sherbrooke 


Dr. Yvonne Steinert, McGill University